Planets In Astrology

Disclosure: This post might include affiliate links. I receive a little compensation when you purchase using my links, which I totally blow on the lattes for the ladies in the office, Life happens, coffee helps. y’all!

Planets in Astrology


The planets form the primary energies in astrology. The astrological planets consist of the nine traditional planets: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, Neptune and Pluto, plus the Sun and Moon.

In astrology, the Sun and Moon are considered planets. They are treated this way because their astrological behavior is same as the behavior of a traditional planet. One theory of astrology is that the planets represent the main forces of energy.

This energy is modified by the sign it is traveling through at the time. This influence then is manifested in the area of the native’s life represented by the house where the planet and sign are located. Each of the major planets used in astrology are listed below with a description of the energies they represent. Each planet’s symbol (glyph) as written in the horoscope is listed on the sidebar.

(Click The Links to learn more about the planet)

Sun: ego, vitality, ability to use authority, men (in a woman’s chart), the father, will power.

Moon: emotions, automatic response, ability to nurture, mother, women (in a man’s chart), the public, the unconscious mind.

Mercury: communication, intellect, speaking, hearing, writing, short journeys, perceptions, the conscious mind.

Venus: relationships, harmony, attractiveness, diplomacy, possessions, love, beauty, art, femininity.

Mars: energy, action, conquest, assertiveness, cuts, heat, wars, sex drive, danger, anger, masculinity.

Jupiter: expansiveness, generosity, wisdom, philosophy, religion, humor, extravagance.

Saturn: structure, form, limitations, fear, obstacles, time, old age, serious, loss, contracts, self-discipline, restraint.

Uranus: sudden change, originality, electricity, revolutionary, humanitarian, individuality, intuition, detached.

Neptune: spirituality, deception, illusion, drugs, dreams, idealism, confusion..

Pluto: transformation, degeneration, coercion, hidden forces, the sex act, extremes, elimination, reform.

Melissa Martinez

Melissa Martinez

Melissa Martinez has been into astrology since being a very young girl. She currently has 10+ years of experience helping people navigate life with the use of astrology. When not working on the website she is busy writing her first book on love and astrology. Her belief is that through the use of astrology itself you can gain an inner view of the issues that are complicating your life, and find the answers to fix them. The answers are in the stars and within you!

Psychic Readings
$1 Per Minute + 3 Free Minutes